Philosophical Schools

Philosophical Schools After 1950

International Conference: Warsaw, May 9-10, 2022

Organised by the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Warsaw, under the patronage of the Committe on Philosophical Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences (KNF PAN)

Location: University of Warsaw Library (BUW), 56 Dobra Street; May 9: room 315, May 10: room 254

The conference aims to retrace the origins, works, and vicissitudes of philosophical schools after 1950. The purpose is to understand the nature of philosophical schools in that era, and to investigate whether the notion of philosophical school can still be relevant and useful today to improve philosophical investigations.

The conference is open to the public. Everyone is invited to come and discuss. It will be concluded with an open debate Academic Schools and the Future of University. We invite all the students and scholars to take part in this event. The admission is free for everyone.

The conference will also be available online:

Book of abstracts

Download a a PDF with a BOOK OF ABSTRACTS


May 9 (Monday) Room 315 (University of Warsaw Library – BUW, 3rd floor)
10.00-10.30 Opening
10.30-11.00 Franca d’Agostini
(University of Milan)
Is There Still (If There Was) an Analytic-Continental Dualism in Philosophy?
11.00-11.30 Piotr Gutowski
(John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin)
Movements, Schools and Sects. A Few Remarks on the Way of Describing the Different Kinds of Philosophy
Coffee break
11.45-12.15 Max Urchs, Klaus Wuttich
(University of Berlin)
„Complex Logic” in Berlin — The Becoming of a Scientific School and its Premature End
12.15-12.45 Anna Brożek
(University of Warsaw)
The Lvov-Warsaw School After 1950
12.45-13.15 Wojciech Gasparski, Marcin Bukała
(Polish Academy of Science)
Tadeusz Kotarbiński and the Polish School of Praxiology
Lunch break
14.30-14.00 Itala Maria Loffredo D’Ottaviano
(University of Campinas)
The Brazilian School of Paraconsistent Logic
15.00-15.30 Raoni Wohnrath Arroyo
(co-author: Itala D’Ottaviano)
(University of Campinas)
Looking Back, Going Forward: Towards a “da Costa” School of Philosophy
15.30-16.00 Jean-Yves Beziau
(Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)
30 Years of Experience with the Brazilian School of Logic
Coffe break
16.15-16.45 Ricardo Nicolás-Francisco
(Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń)
On Polish ‚Via Modalisation’ Approach to Paraconsistency
16.45-17.15 Paweł Polak, Kamil Trombik
(The Pontifical University of John Paul II in Krakow)
The Cracow School of Philosophy in Science
17.15-17.45 Decio Krause
(Federal University of Santa Catarina)
Logic and Empirical Sciences in the South of Brazil
May 10 (Tuesday) Room 254 (University of Warsaw Library – BUW, 2nd floor)
10.00-10.30 Agnieszka Lekka-Kowalik
(John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin)
The Lublin Philosophical School – An Answer to the Contemporary Challenges
10.30-11.00 John Grumley
(University of Sydney)
Contemporary Critical Theory: the Budapest School in Australia
11.00-11.30 Peter Murphy
(La Trobe University)
Being Oneself: Encountering Agnes Heller and the Budapest School
Coffee break
11.45-12.15 John Rundell
(University of Melbourne)
After School – From Political and Critical Affinities to the Paradigm of Friendship
12.15-12.45 Peter Beilharz
(Curtin University)
From Capitalism to Modernity , and Back. Adventures with the Budapest School
12.45-13.15 Agnieszka Kozyra
(University of Warsaw)
The Kyoto School After 1950 – The Problem of Its Unity and Methodology
Lunch break
14.30-15.00 Krzysztof Nowak-Posadzy
(Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań)
Poznań Methodology – Group, Approach or School?
15.00-15.30 Gerhard Preyer
(Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main)
Heidelberg School: Continuation and Innovation
15.30-16.00 Nevena Jevtić, Mina Đikanović
(University of Novi Sad)
Praxis School and Philosophical Endeavor of Milan Kangrga
Coffe break
16.15-16.45 Katia Parshina
(University of Amsterdam)
Philosophical Schools as Corpora: a Method of Tracing Ideas
16.45-18.00 Round Table + Discussion Academic Schools and the Future of University

The Organising Committee

  • Andrea Vestrucci (co-chair)
  • Marcin Trepczyński (co-chair)
  • Agata Łukomska
  • Goran Rujević
  • Filip Łapiński
  • Raoni Wohnrath Arroyo (online event admin)

Skip to content